Useful App Notes: Part 1

Over the years I’ve accumulated a rather astounding number of app notes on my hard drive from various companies.  What few ones I’ve read so far are, in my opinion, very useful and should be shared.  The rest I’ve downloaded thinking “This looks like something I should keep around in case it ever comes in handy,” only to never open them and let them collect virtual dust.  Sharing the interesting ones on my blog seemed like a win-win-win situation, I learn things reading app notes, you learn things from reading app notes, and I de-clutter my hard drive/Dropbox account,everybody wins. So without further ado here’s a few of the most useful app notes I’ve come across.

AN1613: From SPICE Netlist to Allegro Design Sub-circuit, Intersil

If you’re like me whenever you come across a part that isn’t in any of the main component libraries when using P-Spice you think to yourself “Is this part really necessary? How well does my design work with this op amp instead of the one I want?”  I did this because up until I found this app note, even if I could find a SPICE model online for a part I wanted, I didn’t know what to do with it.  Enter AN1613.  It goes through an easy step by step process of how to take a SPICE model you’ve found online and actually make it work in a Cadence Allegro Design  simulator.   I’ve used this app note to help simulate parts from a few IC companies with great results.

Op Amps for Everyone, Texas Instruments

While not exactly a single app note, Op Amps for Everyone is still a great design guide to have handy when you need to quickly refresh yourself on a topic or get a basic overview of a concept before researching it in more detail.  It covers everything from basic circuit analysis and feedback theory to filter design, converter interface, and everything in between.  There’s plenty of examples to go along with the theory as well as a whole chapter on layout considerations.

AN95-1: S-Parameter Techniques for Faster, More Accurate Network Design, Hewlett Packard

Here’s a blast from the past, AN95-1 was first released in 1967 by HP. While slightly on the old side, I still found this app note pretty useful when trying to wrap my head around S-Parameters last summer.

Got any favorite app notes you can’t live without? Share them in the comments, I’m always looking to collect more of them.

One response to “Useful App Notes: Part 1

Leave a Reply

