Amp Hours of Aural Entertainment

Just this week I was in a conversation with someone and I found myself saying “Hey The Amp Hour interviewed someone in that field!” only kill the flow of the conversation with Google searching for the episode. Turns out it was Episode 71 with John Edmond of Cree.

I started listening to The Amp Hour way back when the number of episodes could be counted your fingers in decimal, not binary. Since then I remember the gist of a lot of shows but I haven’t gone back and replayed too many which is a shame since Chris and Dave have done a lot of really cool interviews as the show has grown. After that conversation I figured if I can go back and reread books at any point why not do the same with podcasts? So that’s my aim for the short-term, re-listen to some of the interviews that have stuck with me over the years. It will shock no one that a lot, but not all, of them are analog focused.

#54 – An Interview with Jack Ganssle – Embedded Elchee Epexegesis

#60 – An Interview with Joe Grand – Pancyclopaedic Prototyping Polymath

#71 – An Interview with John Edmond – Luciferous LED Lucubrator

#77 – An Interview with Dr. Howard Johnson – Winsome Waveform Wizardry

#84 – An Interview with Bunnie Huang – Bunnie’s Bibelot Bonification

#95 – An Interview with Øyvind Janbu – Feracious Fabless Facilitator

#115 – An Interview with Dr Greg Charvat – Watcher of Wraithlike Walls

#117 – Interview with Alan Wolke – Undulating Utensil Utility

#119 – An Interview with Dr. Kent Lundberg – Luculent Linear Legacy

#129 – An Interview with Brett Fox and Dr Jeroen Fonderie – Device Doubling Decretum

#133 – An Interview with Ron Quan – Tenacious Transistor Teacher

#135 – An Interview with Mike Harrison – X-ray Examining Xenogogue

#144 – An Interview with Bob Davidson – Hoodied HP Hijinks

#157 – An Interview with the SparkFun Team – Efficacious Engineering Ensemble

#165 – An Interview with Henry Ott – Forced FCC Filtering

#171 – An Interview with Forrest Mims – Snell Solisequious Scientist

#180 – An Interview with Dave Taylor – Multi-talented Meter Maker

#181 – An Interview with Dave Vandenbout – Xceptional XESS Xenagogue

#187 – An Interview with Elecia White – Wirewove Worshipping Wookieist?

#196 – An Interview with Mike Engelhardt – SPICE Simulator Synteresis

Assuming I’m doing routine tasks at work that don’t require me to be in full on troubleshooting mode I should be able to keep occupied for a few weeks at least. If anyone can think of a good interview I forgot or just wants to share their favorite interview with me I’ll be happy to add it to the list! Also, I’d like to somehow bundle all these files into one convenient download for whoever wants them but I don’t know how to go about doing that easily unfortunately. Please clue me in if you could be so kind.

Update: Dave pointed out to me that I could always just use The Amp Hour App to easily find the shows I’m looking for. Doh! I’d forgotten all about that. Check it out and support the show!


Leave a comment